Fifa look at proposals to transform World Club Cup into full-scale tournament involving 24 teams

FIFA are mulling over the possibility of changing the World Club Cup into a full-scale tournament consisting of either 16 or 24 teams.

Spanish daily Mundo Deportivo report Barcelona directors suggested the idea to Gianni Infantino at a recent meeting.

Germany's defender and captain Philipp Lahm (front-2R) holds up the World Cup trophy as he celebrates with his teammates after winning the 2014 FIFA World Cup final football match between Germany and Argentina 1-0 following extra-time at the Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, on July 13, 2014. AFP PHOTO / PEDRO UGARTEPEDRO UGARTE/AFP/Getty Images
Fifa are considering bringing a World Cup-style tournament to the club game
Getty Images
BARI, ITALY - SEPTEMBER 02: FIFA President Gianni Infantino attends FIFA First "offline" VAR test press conference at Stadio San Nicola on September 2, 2016 in Bari, Italy. (Photo by Claudio Villa/Getty Images)
New Fifa president, Gianni Infantino, wants to implement various changes
Getty Images

And the Swiss-Italian new president of football is open to the idea.

Infantino is looking to repair the damaged done to Fifa’s image by the bribe scandal which caused several arrests and the ultimate resignation of long-time chief, Sepp Blatter.

His first order of business appears to be scrapping the £13million contract with France Football over the annual Fifa Ballon d’Or award, which was signed in 2010.

YOKOHAMA, JAPAN - DECEMBER 20: Players of FC Barcelona celebrate after winnning the final match against River Plate at International Stadium Yokohama on December 20, 2015 in Yokohama, Japan. (Photo by Atsushi Tomura/Getty Images)
Barcelona were the winners of the World Club Cup in Yokohama last season
Getty Images

The accolade will return to simply being known as the ‘Ballon d’Or’ and Fifa will resurrect the Fifa World Player of the Year award which ran simultaneously with the French magazine gong from 1991 to 2009.

And now Infantino wants to continue his revolution and expand the world club tournament.

MARRAKECH, MOROCCO - DECEMBER 20: The Real Madrid CF celebrate with the FIFA Club World Cup trophy after the presentation ceremony for the FIFA Club World Cup Final between Real Madrid CF and San Lorenzo at Le Grand Stade de Marrakech on December 20, 2014 in Marrakech, Morocco. (Photo by Steve Bardens/Getty Images)
Real Madrid beat San Lorenzo in 2014 World Club Cup final in Morocco
Getty Images

Currently, it is contested in December — usually in Japan, although it has been played in the United Arab Emirates and Morocco in recent years — between the winners of the Champions League as well as equivalents from Asia, Africa, North America, Oceania and South America and the winners of the national league from the host country.

Watch ALL the goals from the Premier League before anyone else for FREE plus all the latest news, fixtures and results and live match commentary all on the go with the new Sun Football App – click here to download

The Oceanian champions face the host nation’s league winners in the play-off round where the winners meet the North American champs in the quarter-finals.

The other last-eight tie is between the Asian and African champions.

While the best from Europe and South America enter at the semi-final stage.

Starting players of River Plate pose for photographers prior to their FIFA Club World Cup final against FC Barcelona in Yokohama, suburban Tokyo on December 20, 2015. FC Barcelona defeated River Plate 3-0. AFP PHOTO / KAZUHIRO NOGI / AFP / KAZUHIRO NOGI (Photo credit should read KAZUHIRO NOGI/AFP/Getty Images)
South American champions, River Plate, line up to face Barcelona in Japan
Getty Images
Manchester United celebrate their victory as Rio Ferdinand (C) holds up the winner's tropy from FIFA President Joseph Blatter (L) during the awarding ceremony after the final match against Ecuador's Liga de Quito in the FIFA Club World Cup 2008 in Yokohama, on December 21, 2008. Manchester United defeated Liga de Quito 1-0. AFP PHOTO/Toru YAMANAKA (Photo credit should read TORU YAMANAKA/AFP/Getty Images)
Manchester United were England's last World Club Cup winners back in 2008
Getty Images
14 Jan 2000: The Corinthians celebrate victory after the Final of the World Club Championship against Vasco de Gama played at the Maracana Stadium in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. Corinthians won 4-3 on penalties after extra time had ended goalless. Mandatory Credit: Shaun Botterill /Allsport
Corinthians were the first winners of the new style tournament back in 2000
Shaun Botterill /Allsport

However, Infantino wants to include more teams and host it every two years around the world in order to generate more money.

There had previously been talk of a European breakaway league for some of the continent’s biggest clubs.

And Uefa appear to have compromised by guaranteeing the Premier League, La Liga, Serie A and the Bundesliga four group stage places from 2018 — despite president, Aleksander Ceferin, criticising the decision.

Infantino’s idea may be another slight compromise with Europe’s elite clubs.

Leave a comment